News: Trouble logging in? Log in from the login page.
December 18, 2018, 01:27:41 pm

Author Topic: Loose 4-pin socket - cause for concern?  (Read 120 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Deke609

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
Loose 4-pin socket - cause for concern?
« on: December 02, 2018, 04:43:43 pm »
Just started assembling my newly arrived BeePre. One of the 4-pin tube sockets was not tightly seated in its retaining bracket and could be popped out.  When tightly bolted to the chassis, the socket had about 1 mm of up-down and side-to-side play. So I removed it and did my best to crimp the bracket to the socket. It seems tight-ish now, but doesn't look as secure as the other one which came tightly seated in its bracket. 

Should I replace it? I'm really only concerned about the possibility of the socket vibrating and passing the vibrations on to the tube. 

Many thanks in advance,

Derek
Derek
------

Roon Intel NUC ->  Yggdrasil DAC -> BeePre (w/ BeeQuiet and JJs) -> Stereomour II (fully upgraded w/ JJs and Mullards) -> Audeze LCD4

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9979
Re: Loose 4-pin socket - cause for concern?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2018, 04:55:21 am »
A drop or two of super glue will keep the socket from moving around in its bracket, but this is otherwise not concerning.
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline Deke609

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 179
Re: Loose 4-pin socket - cause for concern?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2018, 05:49:33 am »
Excellent idea. Thanks PB.
Derek
------

Roon Intel NUC ->  Yggdrasil DAC -> BeePre (w/ BeeQuiet and JJs) -> Stereomour II (fully upgraded w/ JJs and Mullards) -> Audeze LCD4