News: Trouble logging in? Log in from the login page.
June 19, 2019, 10:08:37 pm

Author Topic: playing records thru tape output  (Read 280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aragorn723

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
playing records thru tape output
« on: November 16, 2018, 12:33:30 pm »
Hi,

My system currently has a Uturn Audio turntable hooked up to a Sony 1970's integrated amp (playing thru the tape loop, and that output goes to a Quickie).  It sounds fantastic if I plug headphones into the Sony, but kind of muffled and crappy if I play into the Quickie.  Is this because I'm playing thru the tape out, or something else?  Cables?  (I'm sure it's not the Quickie  8)

Dave

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10828
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2018, 05:56:38 am »
So you are using the phono preamp in the Sony amp and the headphone amp in the Sony amp?  Is it the Quickie that you're putting in the tape loop?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline aragorn723

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2018, 04:00:21 pm »
I'm using the phono preamp and headphone amp in the Sony.  One of the two tape outputs is feeding the Quickie, for listening with speakers.  If it is late at night, I plug headphones into the Sony and only turn on that and the turntable.  Basically the signal is going from the record player thru the Sony to the Quickie.

Offline Paul Birkeland

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10828
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2018, 05:04:22 am »
Why not use a 1/4" to RCA cable and drive the Quickie from the headphone output of the Sony?
Paul "PB" Birkeland

Bottlehead Grunt & The Repro Man

Offline jjvornov

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 63
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2018, 09:26:13 am »
My experience with 70's audio is that the switches can be pretty dirty if they haven't been used for a few decades. A good cleaning of switches might help


Offline aragorn723

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2018, 01:51:43 am »
Why not use a 1/4" to RCA cable and drive the Quickie from the headphone output of the Sony?

I'll have to try that, got some cables laying around.  Should be ok if I don't drive the output to distortion. 

Will have to clean the switches too.  Had an issue with one of the source selector switches a while ago that totally cut out sound on the unit and thought it was dead.  Turned out some contact cleaner did the trick.  Will have to do that to the tape output switches too.

Dave

Offline aragorn723

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 859
Re: playing records thru tape output
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2018, 08:37:56 am »
Thanks, that works!  Gave the treble a little boost, now I'm pretty happy with the sound.  Happy Thanksgiving!

Dave