News: Trouble logging in? Log in from the login page.
May 20, 2019, 11:36:14 am

Author Topic: DAC has no output  (Read 304 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mike B

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
DAC has no output
« on: August 09, 2018, 02:10:17 pm »
Cued up a CD and no go.  No sound.  Display shows correct bit rate on both optical and coaxial but no sound is output.  Tried power on/off, no go.  Have never used USB only tos and coax.

Ideas?
Far away from the bleeding edge

Offline Mike B

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: DAC has no output
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2018, 05:32:28 pm »
It fixed itself.  I unplugged it and went out to eat.  A couple of hours.  When I plugged it back the familiar crap appeared on the screen and went correct as soon as I started the source. 

I'm gonna open it and install a power switch so I don't have to go through this annoying routine again.
Far away from the bleeding edge

Offline fullheadofnothing

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1423
  • A noble spirit embiggens the smallest man
Re: DAC has no output
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2018, 07:06:52 am »
This is a very bad idea. Please remember that most parts are no longer available for these DACs. Modifications are expressly forbidden, and any damage may result in its permanent, irreparable failure. If you really feel you need a power switch, plug the power supply into a switched outlet/powerswitch.
Joshua Harris

I Write the Manuals That Make The Whole World Sing
Kit Packer Emeritus

Offline Mike B

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 248
Re: DAC has no output
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2018, 07:37:28 am »
Good idea.  Me thinks I'll cut the wall wart wire and put a switch in there.  It's not easy pulling the DAC out and unplugging every time it goes out to lunch.  Which has happened 5 times already.
Far away from the bleeding edge

Offline 4krow

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1371
  • ELECTRONICS LESSON #1
Re: DAC has no output
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2018, 08:46:48 am »
  I had a similar issue once with a component. The answer for me was to replace the power jack, and the cable connecting to it. But before you do any such thing, try wiggling the connection and watching the power light to see if there is that possibility in the first place.
Greg Peyton
 System makeup: Decware "Rachael" integrated amp.;Rega Apollo 'R'; Emotiva ERC3 CDP; Decware ZOB speakers W/FRX2 drivers; Audio Nirvana subs w/Velodyne SMS-1;  Blue Heaven Nordost cables, Pangea/PS Audio power cables, BPT power conditioner